top of page

The astonishing wind powered art of Jose Maria S. Pereira!


Several years ago I was on holiday and found myself on top of a old sea fort roof in Portugal, on top of this roof was some spectacular sculpture by Jose Maria S. Pereira, an artist who I can find virtually nothing about. Most of these sculptures were kinetic and so when the wind blew sails turned and made the various manakins on board row or turn crank shafts (the sculptures in motion can be found on youtube - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vw9yuHK_n6U ). One of my project that I have on the back burner is to use a similar technique to have sculptures that generate usable electricity. If I can make the turbines I make look this good then I'll be happy!

All photos by me

Artist: Jose, maria, S. Pereira

Ponta da Bandeira fort, Lagos, Algarve, Portugal


bottom of page